SharpDevelop Community

Get your problems solved!
Welcome to SharpDevelop Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Database

Last post 03-14-2017 4:30 AM by Robert Blanton. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-20-2008 11:54 AM

• Donk
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 05-20-2008
    • Posts 3

Database

Hi there.

I started programming in C# using SharpDevelopment.

Now I would like to create a database or use the existing db.mdb.

Since I never did this before, I am asking for a noob explanation on setting this up.

The database should be in the same directory as the executable and contain several subdatabases.

It would be great if you could help me

Donk 

• 05-20-2008 1:05 PM In reply to

Re: Database

Hi Donk,

here are some parts of an answer:

Working with databases uses ADO.NET, that means you must use the classes of the System.Data namespace to representate your data inside your application and the classes of the System.Data.Common namespace to connect with the database outside your application. Additionally, you need a specific DbProvider to connect with a specific DBMS, e.g. FirebirdSql.Data.FirebirdClient. A simple example:

//  create a DataSet ds in your application:
    DataSet ds = new DataSet("MyDataSet");
    //  fill in the required data:
    using(FbConnection conn = new FbConnection
            ("User=SYSDBA;Password=masterkey;Database=SampleDatabase.fdb;DataSource=localhost;")) {
        FbDataAdapter da = new FbDataAdapter("SELECT * FROM MyTable WHERE ID < 100)", conn);
        da.Fill(ds, "SelectLowerIDs");
    }

How to connect to a specific database, take a look at http://www.connectionstrings.com/default.aspx with links to the required or recommended NET Provider.