SharpDevelop Community

Get your problems solved!
Welcome to SharpDevelop Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

How to create a .dll

Last post 09-18-2006 3:57 PM by nalaregeork. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 09-17-2006 8:57 PM

How to create a .dll

I am new to C# and also new to SharpDevelop and I am trying to learn both. I don't know if this exact question has been asked anywhere else. But what I am trying to do is have a certain .cs file compile into a .dll and have another one in the same project to compile into a .exe that can use the .dll file that was just compiled. Can anyone help me with this?
  • 09-17-2006 9:43 PM In reply to

Re: How to create a .dll

You can have two projects contained within a single solution one as an executable and one as a dll (library/asssmbly) that can be used by the exe (windows form, console app) project. You can add a reference to the library via the add reference feature there will be a projects option in that window.
  • 09-17-2006 10:17 PM In reply to

Thanks for the help it works now. But is there a way to have SharpDevelop compile them both and like put them in the same folder for when your going to distribute to someone else?
  • 09-17-2006 10:55 PM In reply to

Sure change the ouput directory in the project propeties window there is a tab named Compiling. Try to keep your solutions and projects in the same directory tree for simplicity sake and then create an ouput directory for the solution. Remember there is a Debug and Release directory for Bin. Well I am sure you have enough to work out the details for yourself.

Later 

• 09-17-2006 11:00 PM In reply to

Hopefully I won't need to take to long to C# since I know how to do Java programming easily along with some basics of C++. But thank you so much for helping me.
  • 09-18-2006 3:57 PM In reply to

Kura_Kai: