SharpDevelop Community

Get your problems solved!
Welcome to SharpDevelop Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

changing .NET assembly

Last post 07-05-2017 7:01 PM by sbridewell. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-01-2017 8:10 PM

changing .NET assembly

I am a newbie trying to learn Python and coming from a Visual Studio environment.

I downloaded ver 4.4 (on windows 10). I have successfully created a winforms application. I'm struggling trying to get SQLite to work but during my trials and tribulations I tried to change the .Net framework that it is compiled with. I saw a YouTube video using an earlier version that showed right-clicking on the Project and going to properties and Comile tab. My version does not have all those options that the version 3.x shows in the video.

Can anyone give me some help? Thanks very much in advance.

Steve

• 07-02-2017 5:14 PM In reply to

Re: changing .NET assembly

I've never worked with Python before but I just tried creating a python project using version 4.4, and there is indeed no option in the Compile tab of the project properties to change the framework version. Opening the project file in a text editor I noticed that there's no TargetFrameworkVersion property defined, whereas C# and VB project files normally contain this property.

You could try adding a line to the .pyproj file similar to

<TargetFrameworkVersion>v4.0</TargetFrameworkVersion>

within the first PropertyGroup element. When you save the file and switch back to SharpDevelop, it'll detect that the project has changed and prompt you to reload it, and hopefully it'll build using the .net version you've specified.

Let us know how you get on.

Simon

• 07-02-2017 8:06 PM In reply to

Simon

Thanks very much for the suggestion. I will try that and let you (in case you ever program in Python <G>).

Steve

• 07-04-2017 7:45 PM In reply to

Hi Simon

Sorry it took so long to get back to you...